Match officials awful decision

Shoreham played their most important game for some years with a record crowd of the season of 202. Shoreham needed to get points on the board for this last game of the season to decide who they will play in the first game of the play-offs.

The squad was the same as the win over Midhurst & Easbourne the weekend prior. Before kick off the Musselmen gave Roffey a guard of honour for winning the league which went down very well with all involved.
Shoreham started the better of the two sides with the Musselmen coming close a few times. The main incident of the first half was a terrible decision from the match official, Jordan Stallibrass broke free from his marker and headed towards the goal, when he was about to strike the ball goal bound the Roffey keeper took him down, only for the match official to book Stallibrass for diving, even though the 202 spectators thought otherwise. This match officials decision set the tone for the entire game. The rest of the first half saw Shoreham have most of the chances and should have gone ahead but unfortunately due to good defending and goal keeping from Roffey meant it stayed 0-0 up until the 41st minute when Roffey took the lead, Shoreham’s’ Kevin McMahon was deemed to have brought a Roffey player down in the box and being penalised with a dubious awarded to Roffey. Roffey converted and took the lead.
Second half saw Roffey pick up the pace and coming close to stretching their lead. Eventually,  Shoreham made some changes and started to get back in the game and eventually in the 95th minute, captain Dave Sharman put the ball in the back of the net from an 18 yard box scramble making the score 1-1. All in all, it was a great game off football and Shoreham FC move in to next Saturday to play Seaford Town away in the play-offs. MoM Dan Momah.

Shoreham FC team line up. Ricardo Alves, Harry Heath, Johnathan Lansdale, Levi Martin, Kevin McMahon, Daniel Momah, Mark Pulling, Ramon Santos, David Sharman (95), Luca Slaney,  Jordan Stallibrass. Subs: Harvey Green, El Ivahas,  Neil Munday, Scott Clampin, Michael Death,